Down payment for availing car loan

Can I pay more than the minimum down payment to avail a car loan?

Of course you can pay more than the minimum down payment required by your bank or any non banking financial company and seek a car loan on the remaining amount. The down payment amount or margin money fixed only the lower limit and any borrower must pay at least that much amount from his own pocket.

Actually it is a good idea to seek a car loan by paying a higher down payment. This would not only make your car loan amount less but would also mean you can finish repayment of your car loan sooner making you loan free. The earlier you finish your loan repayment the lower interest you would end up paying the bank.

I am a non resident Indian working in the Gulf. I want to buy a car for my parents living in India. Can I get a car loan?

Yes you can easily get a car loan in India as many banks and non banking financial companies offer car loans for non resident Indians. Before requesting for a car loan, check with the bank or NBFC about the basic eligibility since the rules for eligibility for NRI car loans vary from bank.

Some banks offer NRI car loans only to those non resident Indians who have an NRE account active for more than 6 months to one year with the bank concerned. As an NRI seeking car loan you would need to bring an Indian co borrower as a guarantor for the loan. You can make either of your parents as a co borrower of the loan.
The onus of repayment for the car loan is on the guarantor in case you default on loan repayment. Banks will deduct the car loan EMI directly from your NRE account.

Hi Reba,

Of course, you can get a Car Loan for your parents. Here are the features of NRI Car Loans.